Product reviews for "Seasonal Harvest Produce Box"

Login or create an account to submit a product review.

Existing reviews
Last two boxes not good
5/11/2022
Today box had bad raspberries and even worse green onions.   Previous box was even worse.    Prior boxes before the last two were mostly good.   Not sure if I am going to order again.    Did enjoy the different items every couple of weeks.  Would rate previous before last two boxes as good.
5/11/2022
Sad Box
5/10/2022
Depending on what is in the box, it can be good. This week was not so good.  completely limp green onions, mushed and moldy raspberries and smushed apples.  ....the cauliflower was fine.  Really going to have to consider what is in the box before ordering again.
5/10/2022
Great selection but over ripe when received
5/01/2022
I was really looking forward to the produce boxes and the first one was great. The second one I received had moldy fruit and was definitely past its prime. There was fruit that was moldy when the box was opened and others turned the very next day. It was disappointing because expect better quality and now see that others had similar problems with their deliveries of the produce boxes.
5/01/2022
Good until recently
4/30/2022
Great berries, apples, potatoes. But I don’t want to order again after last week’s bruised vegetables. The radishes in particular were so wilted and soft, it looked like they were from last year.
4/30/2022
April '22 - Seattle Area -- Convenient, nice variety, but hit or miss quality
4/22/2022
We've really enjoyed having the variety of seasonal produce through the Smith Bros partnerships. Overall things have been great, though we've had a handful of incidents in recent months where the quality was sub-par. Overripe, even moldy items have negatively impacted what should be a great experience.

While I do recommend the produce box, YMMV in experience and value.
4/22/2022
4/11-4/15
4/18/2022
Love the rotating produce products and the opportunity to see what the box is before receiving it.
4/18/2022
Great addition!
4/17/2022
I could not be happier with the addition of the produce box!  I did have one box that was spoiled (seems like many did that week) but Smith Brothers took care of the issue right away.  It’s been such a welcome addition to the milk delivery to have assorted fresh fruits and veggies.  Please keep offering this!
4/17/2022
Not a fan
4/06/2022
Every item except grapefruit and broccoli was too ripe.  
4/06/2022
good stuff
3/27/2022
Everything was fresh and nice. I am very happy.
3/27/2022
Great selection and wide range of items
3/19/2022
I was really excited to find black garlic in my last Harvest Box. I’ve heard of this and was eager to try it. I made a black garlic aioli that was fabulous!  I used 4 black garlic cloves, 2 tsp of lemon juice, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 egg and 1 egg yolk to 3/4 cup of canola oil. Really different, intensely flavorful but not strongly garlicky. Yum! Keep this going as we come into the growing season.
3/19/2022
Always good!
3/09/2022
Have been very happy with produce received. Very fresh always! No problem with the sweet potatoes; maybe it’s the way others stored them?
3/09/2022
Mostly good but for the mushy sweet potatoes
2/27/2022
For the most part great but two of the sweet potatoes were so mushy they soaked through the delivery box. :( selection was decently and  was nice for convenience but don’t think I’d order again.
2/27/2022
Great but…
2/24/2022
I love the is box and it’s value.  I’m a little disappointed that this weeks box came with a bag of moldy rotten sweet potatoes, however.  I encourage you all to examine the produce before it leaves the warehouse.
2/24/2022
Lovely selection
2/16/2022
I've really enjoyed these boxes. Has helped me re-imagine my recipes. Everything has been fresh and delicious.
2/16/2022
Not enough local quality or variety
2/15/2022
It was a lot of onions, small apples and not a lot of variety or even stuff  that felt like quality local produce for the price.
2/15/2022
This was so terrible
2/15/2022
We got some very lovely lettuce, onions and tomatoes. But the carrots were limp/rotten on arrival, the cantaloupe was all bruised up, the potatoes were not ripe. I love smith brothers but this box is sadly not worth the cost.
2/15/2022
Seasonal Harvest Box of Mold
2/14/2022
I was really excited to receive my 1st box, it took me forever to convince my hubby that getting a random box of fruits/veggies selected by someone else was a good idea. I loved the idea of getting a variety of fresh fruits and veggies that maybe we hadn't had before and trying some new flavors. We ordered it around mid September and I waited to write this review so that I didn't violate any language rules because when we got the box I was LIVID. It was a massive disappointment because nearly everything in the box was well past peak ripeness and most of it was covered in MOLD. The entire box had to be thrown away because even the stuff that wasn't rotten was contaminated by mold from other products. To make matters worse, I'm allergic to mold so it kicked off a miserable allergic reaction that affected me for days. Based on the other reviews I'm assuming this is not the normal condition of their produce but there's no way I'll be able to talk my hubby into trying something like this again after wasting $35 on a box of mold.
2/14/2022
Seasonal harvest box
2/09/2022
Excellent produce!
2/09/2022
Everything excellent except…….
2/06/2022
The cantaloupe and raspberries were lacking flavor.  The cantaloupe from Guatemala started to spoil before it ripened.  The raspberries were sort of smashed up from too much handling and shipping.  Everything else was excellent, especially the lettuce and sweet onions.  
2/06/2022
Highly Recommend
2/06/2022
I was more than thrilled with my box, definitely will continue with it.  I had a variety of produce that was perfect.  
The cantaloupe was delicious, the onions, potatoes and carrots were perfect with my pot week's. My kids killed the raspberries immediately.  We look forward to next weeks.
2/06/2022
So disappointing
1/26/2022
I should have read the description better, which is the reason this gets two stars instead of one (I expected more frequent rotation, but that was my mistake as it is clearly stated on the page).

Two weeks in a row of the exact same lackluster produce, most of it from far away. Wrinkled grape tomatoes, sad browning artichokes, more apples and potatoes than we would need for a month. To add insult to injury, the same items delivered on demand from the grocery store cost $4.00 less.

It is the middle of the winter, so I can understand that not all local produce is pristine--but some of this stuff was grown thousands of miles from here. Really disappointing.
1/26/2022
Not a good value.
1/13/2022
After reading many reviews, I ordered the harvest produce box.  In my opinion, it wasn’t a good value.  We received a bag of small apples that were not crisp but soft.  A small container of blueberries that had 1/3 of them moldy.  A small bag of potatoes and some kale.   I’m thinking maybe the summer is a better time to get this.
1/13/2022
Like Christmas
1/13/2022
I cannot even begin to explain how excited I am for this box every week!  If you’re into a hearty variety and like to experiment in the kitchen, this is ABSOLUTELY something to explore. It gets me out of my comfort zone and encourages me to cook healthier options. The quality has been outstanding and I hope it’s a product that stays.
1/13/2022
Worth every penny!
12/17/2021
Each time our family has purchased these boxes, the produce has been excellent. This week there are the FRESHEST green beans. The potatoes are actually flavorful. We are 100% satisfied on quality and value of these boxes :)
12/17/2021
A treasure of treats in every box
11/28/2021
Clean, fresh, good quality fruits and veggies.  Sometimes a welcome surprise  comes when  an item we have  not enjoyed or been able to find for awhile, Ii.e., spaghetti squash is included.


11/28/2021
fresh produce and has lasted
11/28/2021
Really enjoyed this concept, and some of the produce I got (potatoes, onions, oranges) is still fresh a couple weeks later
11/28/2021
Terrific
11/17/2021
Great box with good variety.  Small household so still using after 2 weeks.  Potato-Leek soup, French Onion soup, Apple crisp, Spaghetti squash ... Like that the boxes change and the produce is organic and fresh from relatively local farmers.
11/17/2021
pretty good
11/01/2021
The quality of the produce is great, but the squash is tiny. Can't do much for a family dinner with 1 tiny squash. Oh well.
11/01/2021
Loved It
10/25/2021
Everything in the box was great. Got to try honey nut squash for the 1st time, and we all loved it. Can't wait for the next variety to come out.
10/25/2021
Just the Right Amount of Produce
10/12/2021
We've done this twice so far, choosing the Harvest box when it contains both favorites that we know we'll love, and a few items that will be a culinary adventure. Love it!
10/12/2021
Fresh
10/09/2021
I love that it has "safe" fruits/veggies and new to me fruits/veggies! I have never cooked with leeks, but was fun finding a recipe and trying something new.  The kids love the apples and pears. So far everything has been in good/perfect condition.
10/09/2021
the perfect box
10/09/2021
the quality of the produce, mix of items, and volume of items can't be beat. so good. thank you!
10/09/2021
October 4, 2021 Harvest Produce Box #5
10/04/2021
So happy with our Harvest Produce Box #5 for October 4, 2021. Thank you for leaving on the beet tops. Used them in my dinner salad tonight and were great. Lots of vitamins.  Crisp sweet apples and pears ripening on my counter top. Looking forward to trying everything in the box. Thank you.
10/04/2021
Fun Free Diet :(
10/01/2021
My doctor recently put me on a Dairy Free, Sugar Free, Gluten Free, Egg Free.. basically FUN-FREE Diet! :(

This produce box has been a huge blessing; not to mention I’m getting veggies I would never normally get at the grocery store! I use my Flavorly Food App to search for recipes!

Every week is a fun cooking adventure! :D
10/01/2021
Very cool!
9/29/2021
I have always wanted to try something like this and I think it’s so cool! I have loved finding new ways to cook and try new vegetables that I do not normally try. Everything looks great!
9/29/2021
Love local
9/28/2021
The last box was the best so far, the pears, apples, broccoli, zucchini and radishes were very fresh. In fact I’ve never had such sweet radishes. The spinach was fresh but a little mangled but this is just a factor in these type of mixed boxes. All in all a terrific convenience and way to support local.
9/28/2021
Totally Worth It
9/04/2021
I appreciated seeing all the positive reviews, and gave the box a shot last week. Indeed, I found the produce almost all at peak ripeness.
The tomatoes were ready to be eaten right away - and far better than what I get at the grocery store (even better than the grocery organic heirloom tomatoes).
The green peppers were bright and crisp with no soft spots. Same with the green onions.
The berries were fine - not amazing - but as good as what I'd get at the store, at the same price, and delivered straight to my doorstep.
I liked it enough that I'm adding the box to my standing order.
9/04/2021
Pick of the Crop
8/30/2021
I have belonged to other vegetable delivery services.....The Boxes of fresh vegetable I've received from Smith Brothers Farms is top tier.  I have never received such high quality vegetables, so consistently.  I do not mind not choosing, I like it-- I love the quality and variety.  I highly recommend this service.
8/30/2021
Finally!
8/30/2021
Have been waiting to see Smith Bros step into non packaged produce, and here it is! Our first box was wonderful, and that eggplant was GORGEOUS. pretty typical fruit and veg selection, well curated and sourced. Really satisfying and worth it.
8/30/2021
Fresh produce
8/27/2021
My only complaint is that my tomatoes were too squishy.  However, I decided to used them to make a sauce so it worked out.  It just would have been nice to be able to slice and eat fresh.  Everything else looks great and fresh!  I enjoyed getting a box of produce.
8/27/2021
Love the Harvest Box
8/16/2021
This was such a wonderful surprise.  Nice variety.  The only thing is I wish I liked eggplant - that was in the box I didn't use it.  This allows us to have a variety of produce we might not ordinarily buy and have it come right to our porch box!
8/16/2021
Mixed freshness
8/12/2021
Unpacked my box and the leeks, lettuce, cantaloupe, and beets look great....but the cucumbers are soft and have moldy spots. The nectarines are very delicious, but are definitely going to need to be eaten ASAP as they are already getting soft spots and so is the eggplant.  I was hoping the produce would have arrived looking like they had a little more shelf life, but today was super hot and may have ripened things on my porch, so I’m willing to give it another try. Plus the melon is HUGE and smells amazing.
8/12/2021
How To Use The Word "Amazing" Correctly
8/12/2021
To say this box is amazing is accurate.  It quite literally just landed on my doorstep and as has been mentioned, it totally exceeded my expectations.  The Leeks are gorgeous, the Nectarines and Cantaloupe beautifully ripe, but not overly so, the Romaine is perfect and will be in my belly later, The cucumbers are lovely and the eggplant and beets, both really great looking, will be testing my cooking abilities later this week and that is a good thing.  I've just added this box to my weekly delivery.  Thank you Smith Brothers and local farmers for making this available.  Ever grateful!
8/12/2021
Excellent quality!
8/11/2021
I was skeptical that this would be worth it, but to my surprise it was! Nectarines and cantaloupe were sweet and juicy, the cucumbers and lettuce were crisp, and I am looking forward to cooking veggies that I don’t normally buy. I just made my first ever ratatouille with the eggplant and it was darn good!
8/11/2021
Excellent Produce
8/11/2021
Beyond expectations! Love that it was so easy to click and have healthy choices at our fingertips for my family.  We have already enjoyed the eggplant, veggie salad, and some of the fresh nectarines. Looking forward to the great looking cantaloupe. I’m even happy to have the push to find a new recipe for the leek and candy beets. Too easy to get stuck in a rut and this is a great reason to try new things!
Thank you for listening to our request for fresh veggies and nailing it!
8/11/2021
What I've been waiting for
8/11/2021
Exactly what I have wanted from Smith brothers since we started getting milk deliveries! Super fresh and ripe produce! The nectarines were super sweet and juicy, the cantaloupe was ripe and ready to cut into, cucumbers were crisp and flavorful, and I have yet to dig into the lettuce, leeks, and eggplant but they all look and smell great! Ratatouille is on the menu tonight, and I can't wait! THANK YOU, I hope these boxes continue!
8/11/2021